Living in the Moment

Capture

A few weeks ago, myself and a large number of CFL (Canadian Football League) fans did our yearly pilgrimage to watch the Grey Cup Championship Game. I will admit, there were some nerve racking moments but I am very happy that my team was able to win the 103rd Grey Cup Championship game.

During various moments of the game, you could see hundreds of cell phones taking pictures and videos. I will admit, I did take some video and pictures, but I kept reminding myself, “live in the moment”.

At this point, I decide to put my cell phone away and just take in what was happening.  I found myself enjoying the moment more. I was able to focus on the activities in front of me, instead of wondering if I will have enough battery left, playing with the camera focus, or making sure I got the angle I was looking for.

In the end, those moments that I had with my cell phone in my pocket are the moments that I remember the most. They are the most vivid and most replayed in my mind.

 

I will admit, I have taken my cell phone out for pictures since then, but all of the pictures were used in social media postings. None of the pictures are to be used as keep sake or as a memory of the event. As a matter of fact, they get deleted once they are posted. All I have left from those events is the energy of the crowd around me, the noise being made, and the sense of happiness for being there.

Have an awesome week.

Kevin

Kevin MacDonald is a Business Consultant at L6S Business Consulting Inc (www.L6SBC.ca). L6S offers services in management consulting, Controller and CFO contracting, and lean management with either project work or teaching/mentoring of staff. Kevin has his CMA accounting designation along with a Black Belt in Lean Six Sigma.

Kevin is active in the community by volunteering for different groups and donates platelets at the Canadian Blood Services clinic on a bi-weekly basis.

Photo Credit: http://www.countryliving.com/life/a36502/just-wait-until-you-spot-the-best-part-of-this-photo/?src=spr_FBPAGE&spr_id=1453_248145130

Leave a Reply

