Midway Check In

80023028_9202c3d6cf_zIt is half way through the year which means it is a perfect time to check in with our goals. You may find it comical that I check in with my goals on a quarterly basis. That is not the end of it!

I actually review my goals and the plan to reach my goals every Sunday morning. My goals and plan are actually right beside my computer monitor so it is always top of mind. I try my best to ensure that the actions I take are in line with my plan to make my goals a reality. It is one thing to have a dream, but it is another thing to have a plan to reach that dream. I don’t plan on dreaming away my whole life, so I would rather get things done to reach those dreams.

I have been progressing nicely on my personal goals. I have hit some bumps in the road, but as we all know, success is not a straight line up.

successisnotstraight-part2My work goals have been doing much better. Even with my best efforts, some goals have obviously fallen off of the way side. Actually, they have fallen so far away that they can’t be seen any more. I am currently re-evaluating if those goals are possible. Based on current conditions, there will be a pretty big shift in my skills development goal that I had set out. In the end, those fallen goals were not SMART goals. Upon retrospect, they were not realistic with everything else going around me and in some cases, the timing of having the goals achieved is poor.

Are you keeping up with your goals that you set for yourself at the beginning of the year? Have you made any adjustments or you have just fallen off of the wagon? I am very goal orientated so I used those goals to drive me. You might not be goal orientated but you do have driver that keeps you going. As long as you are progressing forward, you are moving in the right direction.

Feel free to share with me your goals. We can help to keep each other accountable.

Have an awesome week.

Kevin

Kevin MacDonald is a Business Consultant at L6S Business Consulting Inc (www.L6SBC.ca). L6S offers services in management consulting, Controller and CFO contracting, and lean management with either project work or teaching/mentoring of staff. Kevin has his CMA accounting designation along with a Black Belt in Lean Six Sigma.

Kevin is active in the community by volunteering for different groups and donates platelets at the Canadian Blood Services clinic on a bi-weekly basis.

Leave a Reply

