Book Review: My Life by Bill Clinton

IMG_20150522_111625

As many of you know, I enjoy reading. Over the past several months, I have been reading my first autobiography of a living American President! I have already gone through numerous biographies of historical political leaders like Churchill, Ghandi, and Hitler and also Canadian politicians like Jean Chretien or Lucien Bouchard; but never have I read an autobiography. So, I decided to start with My Life by Bill Clinton.

When you first get the book, it is interesting to notice that the book is almost 1,000 pages long! I thought originally that the length of the book was due to the fact that it went into extreme depth in regards to issues on the campaign trail and while being Governor and President.  Sadly, I was wrong.

The book was very detailed in regards to his upbringing. Personally, it was so detailed and monotonous that I was considering not finishing the book. I have gone through some bad books, but never had me thinking this…till now.

IMG_20150522_111651

As you would expect, there are some sections in regards to his time as the Governor of the State of Arkansas and President of the United States. The book actually ends on inauguration day for George W. Bush who defeated Al Gore.

It was interesting to learn about the thought process used to make certain decisions. It was also interesting to learn how Clinton tackled various peace negotiations, from Ireland to the Middle East.

Many people define Bill Clinton’s Presidency based off his personal actions which were highlighted by the ‘independent’ council of Kenneth Starr. It was very interesting to learn how Clinton decided to tell his family about his failings and the number of months that he slept on the couch.

All and all, My Life by Bill Clinton was okay. I would recommend it for someone that is interested in learning how a President of the United States thinks; but that is about it. People have asked me if I would read it again, and that is an easy answer: no.

What great or horrible book have you taken up lately? Do you have any good suggestions?

Have an awesome week.

Kevin

Kevin MacDonald is a Business Consultant at L6S Business Consulting Inc (www.L6SBC.ca). L6S offers services in management consulting, Controller and CFO contracting, and lean management with either project work or teaching/mentoring of staff. Kevin has his CMA accounting designation along with a Black Belt in Lean Six Sigma.

Kevin is active in the community by volunteering for different groups and donates platelets at the Canadian Blood Services clinic on a bi-weekly basis.

Leave a Reply

