What to Write.

4857508633_86fb572818_z(1)I have been blogging for about a year now, mostly on topics or events within the business world. A common question I get is “Where do you find your subject matter?” As with anyone else, I was nervous about starting a blog. If you want to be successful in blogging (you can define success as you wish), you do need to be consistently posting to your blog. That made me even more nervous because I was aiming to blog on a weekly basis, but where would I get 52 topics every year?

Actually, it isn’t that hard to find topics to blog about.

Reading: I follow a few people on Twitter and WordPress who write interesting blogs. Sometimes, I write my own blog expanding on their subject matter, maybe putting a twist on it, or actually looking at the subject matter from a totally different angle. The same can go for articles. I am constantly reading different articles from business publications to keep my knowledge fresh and up to date.

Asked: I have had a number of people ask me to research and write about certain topics that I have an understanding about. These blogs are pretty fulfilling for myself since I am helping to solve a burning problem that someone within my network has in front of them.

Observation: I love to watch what is going on around me. Things could be playing out with a client or watching an event unfold in the media is always interesting. In either case, I find myself learning one or two things at that time. I might get my curiosity perked up on a certain subject matter that pushes me to do some added research. These blogs are ‘fun’ because I commonly find something out that I didn’t expect. In any case, these blogs involve more ‘thinking’ than the other types of blogs because I am commonly bring something to light from a totally different angle than anyone else.

Do you have a blog? What is your inspiration? Is there anything that is a burning question from you?

In case anyone is wondering, I came up with the idea for this particular blog while doing a training ride for my MS Leduc to Camrose Bike Tour ride. Blog ideas come up when you least expect it.

Have an awesome week.

Kevin

Picture Source: Owen W Brown from Flickr Common Creative

Kevin MacDonald is a Business Consultant at L6S Business Consulting Inc (www.L6SBC.ca). L6S offers services in management consulting, Controller and CFO contracting, and lean management with either project work or teaching/mentoring of staff. Kevin has his CMA accounting designation along with a Black Belt in Lean Six Sigma.

Kevin is active in the community by volunteering for different groups and donates platelets at the Canadian Blood Services clinic on a bi-weekly basis.

Leave a Reply

