Goal Check In

80023028_9202c3d6cf_zFor my blog of December 16th, we went through the steps to making realistic goals, instead of trying to come up with a resolution for the new year. Hopefully, you remembered to write down what your goals were and your plan on attacking them.

Placing your goals in a location that is visible to you every day is also important. You can repeatedly remind yourself of your plan for the year and ensure that you are on schedule.

Have you checked in with your goals and your progress lately? I completed a check in myself and there are some great successes and some low lights.

I am on track for losing the weight that I wanted to lose. I am sticking to my schedule in regards to time management and balancing myself between working with my clients, networking, and personal time. My personal and business budget are actually performing better than I had expected, which is great news during the weaker economic conditions which are being felt in Alberta.

Low lights include are not being able to fulfill my self-development plan for the period. I was registered for a few webinars but each got cancelled or moved.

I am also well behind in completing my project for schooling, which is very disappointing for me. Lastly, I was not able to have a lunch or coffee with someone already in my network. A few people were contacted but we were not able to get our schedules together.

For each low point in my goals, I will be reassessing how I am going to try to reach them. Instead of working on my school project over the weekend, I will make time available during the week. I will also try to setup my network lunches farther into the future.

How are you in attaining your goals? Any progress yet? If you are going to change your plan of attack, how do you see it changing?

Have an awesome week.

Kevin

Kevin MacDonald is the CEO of L6S Business Consulting Inc. L6S offers services in management consulting, Controller and CFO contracting, and lean management with either project work or teaching/mentoring of staff. Kevin holds his CMA accounting designation along with a Black Belt in Lean Six Sigma.

Kevin is active in the community by volunteering for different groups, his condo board and donates platelets at the Canadian Blood Services clinics on a bi-weekly basis.

Leave a Reply

