Thank you!

Thank you

If you have been following my blog, you know that I normally write about events or observations that I have had from the business world over the previous week. For this past week, I have been on vacation, so I have been trying to suppress my business mind to get some R&R and decompress from day-to-day activities of being an entrepreneur.

Don’t take it wrong. I love working on projects for various companies, but there is a certain commitment level or drive that is required to be self-employed. There are ups and downs, as with anything else, but in the end, the plan is to be on the up side more than the down sidel.

During my vacation time, I reflected on the support network that I have been lucky enough to surround me and help me push me during the down times and keep me level headed during the up times.

Every entrepreneur needs to have a strong support network to bounce ideas off, lean on when times get tough, use for ‘free labour’ when something is outside of their skill gap, and also help you get in contact with the right person.

I have my personal support network with family, friends, and professional colleagues that I am able to leverage to help make me and my business just that much better. That would be my informal support network. They might not know it, but they are helping me along every day.

But happily, it doesn’t just end there for me. I am lucky enough to live in a city that has constructed various formal mentoring systems like Capital Ideas (@CapitalIdeas) and Business Link (@BusinessLinkAB). Both of these groups are great for getting out, networking with people who are in the same position as you, and getting affirmation that you are or are not doing the right thing. I have also greatly enjoyed networking with the South Edmonton Business Association (@SEBAOnline). I have met new clients, suppliers, and knowledge experts through SEBA.

If you are just starting out, join a business association near you. Also go to various networking events. Many are free and will be worth your while!

From me to all of you…THANK YOU!

Kevin

Leave a Reply

